An accurate and fascinating open-air museum exhibition of industrial archaeology. Washery, tunnels, mining plants and lodgings for the workers of the mining village of Rosas, once the protagonists of the Sulcis mining age, now live in harmony with the surrounding environment again, amidst the hills covered with oaks, holm oaks and Mediterranean scrub of Terrubia. The locality, less than seven kilometres from Narcao, a small town near Carbonia, has been frequented since prehistoric times: the oldest evidence is from the Nuragic age, while the first traces of utilisation of the lead, zinc, iron and copper deposits date back to the Roman era and, during the Middle Ages, to the arrival of the Pisans. Official recognition as a mining area took place in 1849 and a 130 -year history began here. In fact, the mining facilities remained active until 1980. With their definitive closure, the village was abandoned, becoming a ‘ghost village’, until a decision was made to recover and redevelop the complex of buildings and plants for museum and accommodation purposes.