Siurgus and Donigala were two separate towns until 1927, when they were unified by Victor Emmanuel III. Today, the municipality of the Trexenta subregion, a ‘Granary of Rome’, has 2000 inhabitants. The town is reflected in the waters of Lake Mulargia, a splendid setting for biking, horseback riding, canoeing or rides on Mississippi-style steam boats or on the Green Train. The territory is largely mountainous, covered with Mediterranean shrubs and cork oaks, a local resource along with cereal and legume farming, vineyards and fruit orchards. Thousand-year-old holm oaks form the Forest of S’Abioi. Other green areas are found on Mount Moretta, Perda Collina, Truncu de S’Ollastu and Genna de Cresia, where visitors can visit a monumental wild olive tree.

Seurgus was a town of importance since the Roman Era, when a road linking Karalis and Biora with Sarrabus passed here, as seen from remains of villages, garrisons and necropolis that span from Republican Period to Early Imperial Period. The most famous artefact is a bronze votive vase with dedication to Asclepius.