The name comes from the thousands of votive lamps found in its main tower, which was converted into a sanctuary to Demeter and Kore - goddesses of fertility - in the Punic-Roman era. The Nuraghe Lugherras, one of the most fascinating of the 110 counted in the Paulilatino area, stands on the edge of a plateau, amid hackberry and oak trees, about six kilometres from the town. Once a strategic fortress with eight towers, defending protohistoric populations for thousands of years, it is now one of the most impressive and best-preserved Nuragic complexes in central Sardinia. It was one of the first to be explored, as early as 1906, when excavations conducted by archaeologist Antonio Taramelli began and also served to divert the attention of treasure seekers away from the site.