A bishop’s seat for three centuries from 1213 - the date of its construction – until 1503, the year in which the diocese transferred to Iglesias. The former cathedral of Tratalias, named after the Catalan-Aragonese period as the Madonna di Monserrat, it sits in the midst of an uninhabited village, the original nucleus of the Sulcian village. A splendid jewel of Romanesque art, it has unique architectural features on the island landscape. Two inscriptions conserved within the building mark the beginning and end (1213 and 1282) of the cathedral’s period of construction. Its history is connected to the events of the Sulci diocese, with the bishop moving to Tratalias after the abandonment of Sant’Antioco due to continuous Saracen invasions.