The buildings stand on the green slopes of the Perda 'e pranu plateau, set in a loop of the beautiful Omodeo lake. The sanctuary and novenary of San Serafino, immersed in the evocative scenery of Ghilarza territory, were built on the site of a 7th century Byzantine church, probably built on Roman ruins, of which pottery from the late imperial era were discovered during the works of restoration of the sanctuary (1950). Many centuries later, in the Giudicato period, the Byzantine building was rebuilt and enlarged. It retained its medieval appearance until 1884 when two side chapels were added, giving it the current cross-shaped layout.