The Museum is in the centre of Fluminimaggiore, housed in the old watermill built in 1750, and powered by the current of the Riu Mannu stream. The mill wheel is powered by the flowing water acting as motive force turning the paddles connected to the millstones, and can still produce whole wheat flour, just as it did in olden days.

The museum is the brainchild of maestro Bruno Murtas, who has untiringly collected and thoughtfully arranged period objects and tools coming from the mill itself and the old grain bank, but also donated by the people of Fluminimaggiore, who have wholeheartedly joined in the project to preserve the identity and heritage of their community.

The various rooms have displays of the objects and tools of the home and working life of farmers, shepherds and craftspeople. Objects on show include branding irons, ancient scales and liquid-measuring devices made of wood, cork and iron, milking and cheese-making tools, farmers' tools, the implements for weaving and bread-making, items of furniture and items from the bride's trousseau, children's toys and the tools of the blacksmith, the shoemaker and the cabinet maker.

During the visit, the use of the objects on show is explained, together with their names in the local language.

This mill offers a rare first-hand view of how wheat was milled using a natural source of power. There are also educational reproductions of old tools, such as the mechanical drill, and old toys, for a complete, see-and-do experience. The guided tour offers in-depth understanding of the traditions, history and cultural identity of Sardinia, and especially of Fluminimaggiore, for which the river has always been both a precious resource and an unruly force of nature. The museum also has an ox-cart and a calèche from the late 19th century, both well preserved.

Address: piazza Antonio Gramsci - 09010 Fluminimaggiore Phone 0781 580990 - 347 8174989 fax 0781 580990 Managing Agency: Municipality of Fluminimaggiore