Morgongiori lies on the southern slope of the Monte Arci park, a naturalistic ‘jewel’ that falls partially within its territory. The town of Morgongiori is in the upper Marmilla region and has approximately 800 inhabitants. It is surrounded by hills covered with oaks and holm oaks, crossed by a myriad of streams and surrounded by harsh rocky cliffs shaped by time, including the Conca Mraxi (‘head of the warrior’). It is the ‘city of stones’, with houses in trachyte and basalt, adorned with arched portals, whilst courtyards and loggias characterise the historic centre. All is gathered around the parish church of Santa Maria Maddalena (1673). The church houses a documentary archive of the village. Along the Arci pathways is the Church of Santa Sofia. In the surrounds arose a medieval village that was abandoned due to Saracen raids. Santa Suia is celebrated in mid-October, whilst the farmers’ festival is held in mid-May. For the procession, horses and oxen are decorated with gutturadas, being fabric collars. Morgongiori is known for its textile craftsmanship. On ancient horizontal looms, a wealth of carpets, tapestries and saddlebags has been preserved in the Museo Vivente dell’Arte Tessile (MUVAT - the living museum of textile art), where women from the village give live demonstrations. In August, there is a tapestry and carpet exhibition. The exclusive local gastronomic specialty is lorighittas, a fresh pasta in the shape of a ring (loriga), to which an eagerly-awaited festival is dedicated at the beginning of August.